SIDI’S NATIONAL CHAMPIONS - A swath of victories on roads all over the world…

Sidi is thrilled with the victories scored by so many of its riders in the road racing and time trial National Championships that have been taking place throughout the world. These important events traditionally anticipate the kick-off of the Tour de France, which sets out on Saturday July 7th, from Noirmoutier, a town in the Vandea Region on the Atlantic coast. And it was in France that Sidi won the National road racing title with Anthony Roux (Groupama-FDJ).

The most significant victories definitely also include the one by Tony Martin in Germany’s time trial National Championships. This is the first bulls-eye of the season for the rider from Team Katusha-Alpecin. It’s the seventh year in a row that Tony Martin has donned this jersey, but he also won the title in 2010, so let’s add that one to the collection as well.

Sidi scored a double in Kazakhstan, on the wheels of riders from Astana Pro Team.  Alexey Lutsenko earned the road race title and Danil Fominykh won the time trial title. There was also a double in Slovenia, where Matej Mohoric (Bahrain Merida) won the road race and Jan Tratnik (CCC Sprandi Polkowice) triumphed in the time trial.  

Another time trial victory also came out of Poland, where Michal Kwiatkowski (Team Sky) has become the new National Champion in the field. And again in the time trial test, Tanel Kangert (Astana Pro Team) prevailed in Estonia.
Meanwhile Gorka Izagirre (Bahrain Merida) scored the win in the road race in Spain.

Victory remained elusive in Italy; however, in the road race, which was won by Elia Viviani, the riders from Bahrain Merida, Giovanni Visconti and Domenico Pozzovivo, made it to the podium in second and third place respectively.

To complete this pretty picture let’s look back to the National Championships held in Colombia this past February. We can add the victories by Team Sky riders Sergio Henao and Egan Bernal, who respectively won the National titles in road racing and time trials.


Photos ©